Joe Percy 2023

The Joe Percy Invitational 10k returned to Storthes Hall on Wednesday 14th June 2023 after a three year break.  It was good to see so many runners from local clubs coming together to celebrate this renowned team competition.   It was a warm evening that greeted competitors at the new race HQ at Shelley Community Football Club.  The route was slightly different this year as well, starting on Wood Lane rather than Storthes Hall Lane which made it less of an incline from the off.  The traditional two loops of Farnley Tyas ended with a sprint finish down Wood Lane and back to the start.

The race is a team event with a separate trophy for men and women with the first 10 men (or ladies) from a club making up the first team, the next 10 the second team and so on.  Each club was also asked to provide helpers / marshals and a big thank you to Andy Clarke, Nicky Evans and Philomena Clay for putting themselves forward and for providing lots of vocal encouragement.

HHAC entered 19 men and 16 women although on the night only 14 men and 12 women raced.

The ladies race was won by Stadium Runners with a combined team time of 8:06:22 (or an average of about 48:30 per runner.  Holmfirth ladies were fifth with a combined time of 8:34:03 (or an average of about 51:25 per runner).

The men’s race was again won by Stadium with a team time of 6:02:54 (or an average of about 36:12 per runner) and Holmfirth came second with a team time of 6:43:26 (or an average of about 40:20).

Helena Croft was first female overall with a time of 39:34 and Richard Anderson was third overall with 34:30.

The race concluded with food and drink from the bar and the prize-giving.  Thank you to everyone that took part and very well done to all Holmfirth Harriers that proudly donned their amber vests to represent the club.

Ladies Team (first 10 finishers)

Becky Burdon

Debbie Hall

Diane Baldwin

Heidi O’Shea

Helena Croft

Janet Foreman

Kelly Law

Naomi Shields

Noreen Edery

Vicky Noble


Men’s Team (first 10 finishers)

Brandon Holroyd

Damien McQueen

Gary Putnam

Kevin Dessoy

Matthew Rose

Michael Sanderson

Paul Sammonds

Richard Anderson

Tim Brook

Tim Street


Other members of the Ladies team

Alice Smith

Keren Pearson

Other members of the Men’s team

Bill Hunter

Bob Dickinson

John Dickinson

Sean Doyle


Full results can be found on the Time My Race website.

More News