Trafford 10K

Category: Road Published Date Hits: 3482

9 March 2014
By Matthew Rose

Finally a reprieve from the wind and rain and we were presented with a beautiful, sunny, spring morning and with that - ideal racing conditions for the Trafford 10K and the 824 athletes who took part.

Peter Brookes PB's

Peter Brookes works on a PB
(photo Flamingphotography)

The course runs through narrow country lanes, very flat and condusive to fast times with the only hills being bridges! This year it didn't disappoint and as always the race attracted many a fine athlete including Great British athlete Helen Clitheroe (Preston Harriers).

Peter Brookes was first home for Holmfirth, setting a PB by 50 seconds and finishing in a very respectable 31:39.  Another PB followed, this time for Philip Hewitt in a time of 35:27. Scott Smith was just six seconds behind Phil in 35:33.

Brandon Holroyd nursing an Achilles injury was following the Captain's instructions not to get injured ahead of the Northern Road Relays, running a very conservative 38:54!

Claire Leaver was the only Holmfirth lady in the field; despite a slow start, weaving through the masses, Claire had a great run setting a Season's Best of 38:56 (25th lady).

Michael Proctor was our final athlete home, finishing as 12th MV60 in 45:42

The race winner was Nick McCormick from Morpeth Harriers in 28:56 (PB!); first female was Helen Clitheroe 32:48.


Holmfirth: Peter Brookes [33] 31:39; Philip Hewitt [127] 35:27; Scott Smith [132] 35:33; Brandon Holroyd [230] 38:34; Claire Leaver [246] 38:56; Michael Proctor [448] 45:42

Complete: http://www.chiptiming.co.uk/results/?sport=1&year=2014&event=172&race=90


Available to buy from Flaming Photography: Trafford 10K

Philip Hewitt 35:27

Philip Hewitt 35:27

Scott Smith

Scott Smith 35:33

Brandon Holroyd

Brandon Holroyd 38:34

Claire Leaver

Claire Leaver 38:56

Michael Proctor

Michael Proctor 45:42



A Flaming photography production: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1mEulLjAqo&feature=youtu.be


Copyright Holmfirth Harriers Athletics Club 2012