Leeds Abbey Dash

17th November 2013

Richard Smith leads for Holmfirth

Richard Smith leads for Holmfirth
(Photo's Sportscam.net

The Leeds Abbey Dash is organised by AgeUK and recognised as one of the best 10K's on the race calendar being fast, flat and offering excellent PB potential.

This year the race start was moved to Wellington Street to accommodate a wave start.  From here the route took us onto the A65/Kirkstall Road and after 1.25 miles, a small loop of the Warner Village before returning onto Kirkstall Road.  After an encouraging shout of support from Garreth Humpries and Steve Beadsell we headed up to the Abbey and turned in the road for the return leg to the finish on the Headrow adjacent to the Town Hall.

There were 9,503 runners on what turned out to be a perfect morning for racing; the weather was fine, dry and with no wind, it would provide ideal conditions for some great performances.

Holmfirth had 26 athletes racing and for many, the training through the summer paid off. Richard Smith was first home for the club three seconds ahead of Stuart Sharp who had an excellent race; they lead home a cavalcade of personal bests from those in amber and also some very respectable age group performances from Margaret Sykes 4th F40, Rob Kersey 4th M60 and Karen Sinkinson 6th F50. 

The complete results for the club was as follows: Richard Smith 00:32:40 [105]; Stuart Sharp 00:32:43 [108 PB]; Steven Eastwood 00:36:34 [423 PB]; Margaret Sykes 00:37:43 [554/4th F40 PB]; Brandon Holroyd 00:38:31 [645]; Ricki South 00:38:57 [713]; Edward James 00:39:25 [772 PB]; Jordan Mullinger 00:41:10 [1080]; Karen Sinkinson 00:41:54 [116/6th F50/equals PB]; Ian Goulding 00:42:09 [1252]; Rob Kersey 00:42:26 [1315 5th M60]; Liz Woodfield 00:42:30 [1332]; Jen Wolstenholme 00:44:00 [1704]; Michael Coggon 00:44:17 [1781 PB]; John Philpott 00:44:43 [1909]; Matthew Rose 00:44:57 [1974]; Tony Mullinger 00:51:08 [4091]; Will Stanley 00:52:36 [4587]; Dinah Coggon 00:53:03 [4761]; Lizzie Robinson 00:53:32 [4967]; Chris Williamson 00:53:37 [4997]; Sarah Ross 00:55:46 [5791]; Diane Taylor 00:58:11 [6559 PB]; Fay Dolphin 01:01:34 [7473]; Tracy Durrans 01:02:04 [7584 PB]; Denise Kersey 01:07:21 [8495].

The race was won by North Yorkshire Moor’s Matty Hynes in 29:23 leading a staggering 14 runners under the 30 minute mark.  The first lady was Louise Damen of Winchester in 33:04.

Well done all who competed, brilliant results and testimony to your hard work and that of your coaches!

Pre-2012 news, results & reports are on the old sites: 2009 to 2011, Pre-2009

About us

With a membership of over 550, Holmfirth Harriers is one of the largest athletics clubs in Yorkshire. Join us on club nights Tuesday and Thursday evenings at 7:00 pm. All standards welcome!! Read more>>

google map

Find us on Google Maps

Plus - important information about parking!!

Race and events calendar

New Members

All new members must attend an induction session before they will be allowed to join in any training sessions/runs.

For details of the next induction sessions, please review the race and events calendar above


Neiley Pavilion available for hire. Click here for further details.

Keep in touch

Mailing list

To stay infomed on club events by email, contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Let us know what you think to the new website. Anything else you’d like to see? 
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Website info

Please This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you would like to add club results or notices.

Website design by Interactive Solutions

Header image licensed by kind permission from www.anti-limited.com


Privacy Statement and Policy

Privacy Statement

Privacy Policy

Training nights

7:00 pm Tuesday and Thursdays at:

Neiley Pavillion

New Mill Road
West Yorkshire

View map

club mark logo

england athletics logo

northern athletics logo

real buzz logo

John Taylor Foundation for Young Athletes Logo

Copyright Holmfirth Harriers Athletics Club 2012