Tinker Cup Race Report & Results - 23rd December 2017

Category: Fell Published Date Hits: 1057

Tinker Cup Winner Zoe Storr
Fastest time Mark Buckingham, Fastest Lady Helen Berry

On Saturday 23 December 2017, members of Holmfirth Harriers AC gathered at Honley Cricket Club to take part in the club’s oldest and most prestigious race, the Tinker Cup, which was first contested in 1908. Seventy-five members had pre-entered the race but sadly illness and injury prevented 18 athletes competing. The weather was kind, visibility good, but running conditions were quite tough over the multi-terrain course with numerous obstacles to negotiate. The course crosses Long Lane, Thong Lane, New Road in Netherthong, down to Mark Bottoms, picking-up Hill Lane and Binns Lane in Upperthong, before returning to the finish on the recreation ground to the rear of Honley cricket pavilion.

There were 5 novices, tackling the race for the first time (not eligible to win the Tinker Cup) including 16 ladies in the 98th running of the event. The athletes set off at a brisk pace and Lewis Byram had a lead over Mark Buckingham as they crossed New Road in Netherthong, followed by Mike Fanning, Phil Hewitt and Jonny McLean who won the race in 2015. Ladies captain, Helen Berry, herself a former winner in 2002, led the women’s challenge followed by 18 year-old Lucy Byram with her twin sister Erica not far behind. When the athletes reached Upperthong, Mark Buckingham a former winner of the Tinker Cup in 2003 had moved into the lead, with Lewis Byram in close pursuit. There were 10 former winners of the Tinker Cup in this years’ race including the oldest athlete, Roger Bradley who won the handicap in 1975. The leading athletes maintained their positions to the finish with Buckingham winning the race and the Ian Roberts Trophy for an unprecedented 11th time, maintaining his 100% record, in a time of 44.39. Fellow triathlete, 20 year-old Lewis Byram was 2nd in 44.55 and fell specialist, Mike Fanning was 3rd in 49.02. Fastest lady and winner of the Norman Haigh Trophy was Helen Berry in 6th place overall (50.44), with Lucy and Erica Byram 2nd and 3rd ladies in 9th and 13th place overall (52.15 & 55.02 respectively).

The 2017 handicap winner of the coveted Tinker Cup was Zoe Storr, a loyal member for 20 years who finished in 20th place overall recording an actual time of 58.59 and a handicap time of 38.59.  Second and third places on handicap were Dianne Lee 51st overall (actual time 77.18, handicap time 39.18) and Jean Shotter 39th overall (actual time 65.23, handicap time 39.23). The Byram family celebrated a unique achievement with all five family members including Mum, Deborah and Dad, Wayne completing the course a little behind their children!

The presentation of the trophies was by , President Rob Kersey who made a special presentation to the longest serving Honorary Life Member and club stalwart, Graham Ellis who has recently completed 50 years as a member of Holmfirth Harriers and is still the record holder of the 5,000m (13.52) and 10,000m (28.44).

Click to view full list of results.

Copyright Holmfirth Harriers Athletics Club 2012