Senior fell championship update

Category: Fell Published Date Hits: 1382

Final standings 2014

Phil Hobbs

The Mytholmroyd race on Sunday 14th brought this year’s Fell Championship to an end. Whatever the outcome of this race, the top 3 places couldn’t change, which meant that Bill Hunter was the sole Harrier running & duly picked up his first maximum points of the year! In a year where we’ve had over 30 taking part, 6 completed the necessary 7 races to qualify. Honourable mentions to Phil Hobbs, Paul Fearns & Bill Hunter, but this year’s champion is Jonny McLean on 170 points, just ahead of Chris Beadle on 167 points & Dan Shaw on 162 points. Congratulations to all three of them on a very close-fought championship. It was also good to see some new faces venturing onto the fells & hopefully 2015 will tempt even more of you out there!

For the ladies, 9 of you took part during the year, but only Helen Berry was able to complete the necessary 7 races & has duly retained her title on the maximum 105 points from 7 races. The All-to-Count competition race was convincingly won by Chris Beadle, who completed 10 of the 15 races, amassing 328 points, ahead of Phil Hobbs on 283 points & Paul Fearns on 259 points, both of whom completed 9 of the races.

Looking ahead to 2015, I have once again endeavoured wherever possible to avoid any clashes with Road Relays, Cross Country events, Vets Grand Prix races etc & have also tried to tie in races with the juniors so that we have a significant Harriers presence at as many events as possible.

In a slight change to previous years, there will still be 15 races to choose from, with 7 races to be completed, but they must include 2 of each length, which should hopefully extend everyone’s abilities & broaden their horizons! The calendar will be announced very shortly, but the first race will be the Stanbury Splash from Penistone Country Park, near Haworth on Sunday 18th January – see you there.

Phil Hobbs

Senior Fell Champs 2014 Final Standings (Excel)

Copyright Holmfirth Harriers Athletics Club 2012