Holmfirth Harriers Veteran Runners Complete YVAA Multi-terrain Series

Category: Vets Published Date Hits: 2310

Cleckheaton, Sunday 8th November 2015

On Sunday at Cleckheaton 14 Harriers took part in the final race in the YVAA Multi-terrain Grand Prix series for 2015.This year there were 8 races with venues at Honley, Kirkstall (Leeds), Meanwood (Leeds), Whitby, Crossgates (Leeds), West Vale, York and Cleckheaton. Sunday’s race took in a start and finish on the running track with sections of tracks, fields, woodland paths plus  section on the Spen Valley Greenway.

The day started wet and windy but by the time the race was due to start, after the 2minutes silence for Remembrance Sunday, the wind had dropped and rain stopped. While it was wet underfoot it was not unduly muddy, just sufficient to give you well splattered legs!

Although missing our top runners the 14 Harriers, including two 1st timers in a GP race this year, all acquitted themselves well and seemed to enjoy the race. As always the pre and post-race chatter, plus intense but friendly rivalry during the race, make these events some of the most enjoyable around and a large crowd stayed for the refreshments and results / prize giving. First Harrier home was 34th Seton Waddington M35, 36:49 followed by 37th Andy Hauser 2nd M60, 37:01; 55th Rob Kersey 1st M65, 39:29; 64th Debbie Hall 2nd F35, 39:35; 68th Kevin Yewlett M60, 39:40; 72nd Robert Ellis M50, 39:52; 72nd Lesley Ewart 1st F60, 40:11; 74th Matthew Rose M40, 40:13; 99th Rosemary Baker 1st F55, 41:52; 127th Neil Midgley M65, 44:40; 147th Paul Winn M60, 46:48; 160th Tim Cock M70, 48:15; 167th Debbie Beck F45, 49:16; 189th, Liz Yewlett F60, 57:16

Detailed results will be found at www.yvaa.org and on the club notice board.

Several Holmfirth runners have won trophies, in their age group, for the best 6 results out of the 8 possible events, over the series.

F35 Debbie Hall 2nd, F50 Rosemary Baker 1st, F60 Lesley Ewart 1st, M45 Chris Beadle 2nd, M55 Andy Hauser 1st, M60 Rob Kersey 2nd, M70 Tim Cock 1st 

Rob Kersey, Matthew Rose and Neil Midgley also managed to complete all 8 races in the series.

Copyright Holmfirth Harriers Athletics Club 2012