********* This is an archived version of the HHAC website. For the current website go here **************.

Track & field

Northern Track and Field League 2010

Match 4

Athletes from Holmfirth Harriers AC travelled to Leverhulme Park, Bolton for the final match of the Northern Track & Field League. With Holmfirth currently in second place and just one point behind leaders Bingley, they knew that victory would give them the overall League title. The athletes rose magnificently to the challenge, covering for last minute withdrawals to ensure there were two athletes in each event. They produced some sparkling performances and notched up a total of 418.5 points to win the match and snatch the Northern West Central Division 2 title from Bingley.

In the opening 400m Hurdles event, Emma Szostac had a fine run to finish in 2 nd place with 72.1secs, ably supported by Amy Griffiths who was 4 th in the ‘B’ race. Emma later teamed up with Lauren Storr for the 100m Hurdles to gain maximum points for the Club. Lauren won the ‘A’ race in 15.7secs with Emma also crossing the line first in the ‘B’ race. Graham Bickerdike and James Dewhirst were also in splendid form in the men’s 110m Hurdles with Graham’s 2 nd ‘A’ in 16.5secs and James’ victory in the ‘B’ event. James was again in action in the 400m Hurdles winning the ‘B’ race in a photo finish on the line.

English School’s medallist Jordan Toth won the 200m setting a new personal best and club record with his time of 22.4secs. The clubs top Under 17 sprinters, Jacob Henton and Luke Craven gave excellent support by winning the ‘B’ races in the 200m and 100m resectively. Jacob Henton was in a very competitive 400m ‘A’ race crossing the line in 53.3secs, whilst Stuart Morrison gained valuable team points with his 58.9secs effort. Experienced sprinters Lauren Storr and Harriet Roberts shouldered the responsibility of running the ‘A’100m and 200m respectively with Emma Szostac and Laura Bartle giving good support in the ‘B’ races. Cara Penfold ran a gutsy ‘B’ 400m to finish in 69.3secs.

Once again, Luke Craven and Stuart Morrison gained a stack of points in the Jumps events. Luke dominated the Triple jump with his 13.36m effort and was well supported by Stuart who secured 2 nd place in the ‘B’ event. Luke had earlier teamed up with Graham Bickerdike in the Long Jump finishing 1 st ‘B’ and 2 nd ‘A’ respectively. In the High Jump Liam Holdsworth cleared 1.70m but finished in 2 nd place on count back, whilst Stuart Morrison and Scott Whittle of Bolton could not be separated and were both awarded joint 1 st place. Graham and Liam again teamed up to win maximum points in the Pole Vault with Liam extending his Under 20 record to 3.10m.

In the women’s jump events Laura Bartle was joined by Naomi Harvey-Franklin in the Long Jump, both finishing 4 th to secure valuable team points and produced solid performances later in the day in the Triple Jump. Jenny Ibbitson was the sole competitor in the women’s Pole Vault but was joined by Sarah Griffiths in the High Jump and their efforts made a vital contribution to the overall team score.

With some of the Club’s senior distance athletes out with injury, the responsibility for the middle distance events fell on top under 17’s Max Kaye and Thomas Traviss-Pollard. The standard of the 800m was high with 1.1secs covering the first 4 athletes in the ‘A’ race. Max crossed the line in 4 th place in 2mins 1.6secs whilst Thomas finished 2 nd ‘B’. The combined ‘A’ and ‘B’ 1500m saw the welcome return of veteran Dave Watson to track competition. Dave made a break with 400m to go, but was unable to match the speed of younger competitors. He followed Max Kaye across the line to win the ‘B’ race with Max finishing 3 rd ‘A’. Dave Turnbull joined Dave in the 5000m, both running strongly to record 15mins 39.8secs and 15mins 44.4secs respectively. In the 3000m Steeplechase it was left to relative novices Matthew Johnson and Matthew Dewhirst to fly the club colours. Both ran extremely well to finish 3 rd ‘A’ and 2 nd ‘B’ and gained 11 team points in the process.

The women’s distance athletes also ran well. Harriet Roberts stepped up to the 800m start supported by Nicola Brown. They finished a good 4 th ‘A’ and 2 nd ‘B’ with times of 2mins 37.2secs and 2mins 38.6secs respectively. Club Stalwart Claire Leaver extended her points tally with her 4 th place in the 3000m and 3 rd place in the 1500m later in the day. She was well supported by Nicola Brown’s 3 rd place in the 1500m and Julia Johnson’s 3 rd in the 3000m.

The Club’s throws athletes continue to dominate the top point-scorer board with Graham Bickerdike winning all four throwing events and setting a new Club record in the Discus with 40.05m. Andy Storr continues to give good support in the throws with a fine 2 nd place in both the ‘B’ Hammer and Shot, whilst Liam Holdsworth finished his day with an excellent 2 nd in the ‘B’ Javelin.

Jenny Ibbitson and Katie Zientek amassed 56 points between them. Jenny took 2 nd in the ‘A’ Discus and 3 rd place in both the ‘A’ Hammer and Shot. Whilst Katie’s best result was her 3 rd ‘A’ in the Javelin and 2 nd ‘B’ in both the Hammer and Shot.

The relay events always provide an exciting finish with all the clubs cheering on their respective athletes. The women showed consistency by finishing 3 rd in both their 4X100m and 4X400m relays. The Men’s 4X100m team of Jordan Toth, Luke Craven, Jacob Henton and Russell Balmforth finished a splendid 2 nd setting a new senior club record of 46.0secs in the process. The men’s 4X400m squad found the going tough against sprint relay specialists and finished 5 th.

Finally the team of officials also contributed 30 points to the overall score. Time keepers: Adrienne and Alwyn Dewhirst, Track Judge Samantha Tingey and Field Judges John McFadzean, Richard and Maxine Szostac, Matthew Pierson Amy Griffiths and James Dewhirst.

After 37 events Holmfirth were declared the winners with a massive 418.5points, followed by Bolton with 374 points and Bingley in third place with 342points. Holmfirth Harriers have also qualified for the ‘play off’ match for promotion to Division 1. The final league standings for 2010 were as follows: 1 st Holmfirth Harriers (22points), 2 nd Bingley Harriers (21 points), 3 rd Bolton United harriers (17 points), 4 th Spenborough & District AC (10 points), 5 th Lancaster, Morecambe & Kendal (7 points), 6 th Rossendale Harriers (7 points).





About Us

Helen Berry

Track & Field secretary

John McFadzean

Email John





Track & field records are available on the members page.



Track & Field Review 2009:


40 new Club Records set.
15 County Track & Field medals won
71 athletes competed in Track & Field League matches.
21 club officials and parents officiated at Track & Field League matches.

Track and Field Honours

Yorkshire Track & Field Championships

Gold: Junior George in U/20 Mens 400m
Jordan Toth in U/17 Men 100m
Aaron Kettlewell in U/13 Boys Long Jump
Silver: Lauren Tyrell in U/20 High Jump
Jacob Henton in U/15 Boys 400m
Aaron Kettlewell in U/13 Boys 100m
Bronze: Max Kaye in U/17 Men 1500m

Yorkshire Veterans Track & Field Championships

Gold: Tim Cock in O/65 5000m
Gold:Jacqueline France in O/45 5000m
Gold:Jenny Ibbitson in: Hammer Shot Discus Javelin Triple Jump
Bronze: Robert Ellis in O/45 5000m


West Yorkshire Schools T & F Championships

1st place honours: Junior George in Senior Boys 400m
Jordan Toth in Intermediate Boys 100m
Thomas Traviss-Pollard in Intermediate boys 3000m
2nd place Honours: Jacob Henton in Junior Boys 400m
3rd place Honours: Max Kaye in Intermediate Boys 1500m

Northern Indoors T & F Championships

Gold: Max Kaye in U/17 1500m


Can't find what you're looking for on the new site? The old site is still available here